Wigwam blog


Heygate Estate & Thamesmead….
March 18, 2011, 11:13 pm
Filed under: Photography

The infamous Heygate estate in Elephant & Castle now lays derelict waiting to be torn down. It along with many other estates have for a long time fascinated me. I attribute this to the generally brutal and hostile designs and labyrinth like network of walkways and stairwells. I decided, before it was too late, to have a look around and take some pictures. During the same trip I also visited the Thamesmead estate, made famous by Stanley Kubricks “A Clockwork Orange” Here I present a few pictures from my trip, if you’d like to see more you can on my Flick R. For further reading I recommend an article entitled “The Death Of A Housing Ideal” which you can read here.

All photographs by: Joseph Salmassian

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

